Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, this is my first post, and I hope that I can find some advice. I have a Toshiba 57H81, and it has a convergence issue. I'm no expert, but after surfing around the internet today, the problem seems to be consistent with bad convergence ICs.

This TV has the STK392-110 ICs. I see that some people recommend upgrading to STK392-150 or STK392-180, or (including a reference on this forum for another 57H81) the STK394-160 (although this seems to be for a different current requirement?). Does anyone have sound advice as to whether or not I should "upgrade" if I'm going to be replacing them, and to which version? I saw one post on a different forum that states that the resistors need to be replaced with lower ohm resistors if upgrading. Any advice on all of this?

Also, if anyone has the service manual for this TV, I would be grateful if you could send it my way. You could email it to me at my user name at gmail.

Any other tips anyone else has are very greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

·
Plain ole user
11,121 Posts
Sorry about the delay in response. I am at camp with scouts and working from my phone...
I have used the 394-160 in these sets but have heard off others that have had problems with that sub. There may be a difference in the muting cicuit that some have speculated or there
may be some counterfeit chips in the market. For those reasons I do not recommend subbing unless you are willing to take chances and are sure that the ICs are the problem. Many have become confused with problems like bad solder joints, fuses, or dcu problems. It is best to not introduce more variables.

Be sure to read the convergence repair sticky very carefully.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Loki2012,