Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
my name is Gaetano, from Italy. I'm an electronic engineer and I've a "medium" recording studio in Naples.
A few days ago, I decided to re-perform some measurements of my speakers, Yamaha MSP7 studio, in my control room, taking also the opportunity for comparing the MSP7s with the smalls newcomers Iloud Micro Monitors from IK multimedia :)yikes:)
I've already used REW in the past for measuring this control room, using an ECM8000, and an RME Fireface 800; but this is the first time I do it using an Imac, OSx El Capitan (still using ECM8000 and RME Fireface 800). Here you can see some pictures of the control room:

https://www.facebook.com/Bluwavestudio/photos/a.734245210035997.1073741828.734242673369584/734244903369361/?type=3&theater

First time I've performed measurements using REW version 5.18 (the one with JRE integrated in it) and I've noticed something really strange in all the impulse responses: they have multiple big peaks, sometimes after the zero time (meaningless...) , sometimes before (indicating absurd distortions levels??). Moreover, obviously, Waterfall plots appears totally wrong for the impulse responses that have multiple peaks after the zero...You can find at the following link the first mdat file containing the measurements (named starting with 5.18):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7SRBJ1_E7z9cUJ4Z1B4X0pHT2s/view?usp=sharing