Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm new to REW, have read the basic help + tut's and trialled the software but having a little trouble getting any results. Basically, I'm having trouble joining the dots and would like input from anyone spell out the steps to set eq filters in a second software app via a plugin

Lets start with my setup and what I want to do;
- I'm using MC17 as my Media center
- I have a 5.1 Setup with a MAudio Profire 610 as the audio device (8 analog outs going direct into a poweramp)
- I have Voxengo GlissEq as a plugin in MC17 which is 5.1 capable and wish to use this to EQ my setup with its parametric eq's.
- I also have a Behringer ECM8000 to measure results which I can plug into the Profire 610 mic preamp
- I expect, I should be able to apply filters in Glisseq (manually) to correct my speakers and room and wish to use REW to determine what filters and parameters to apply.

How am i going so far?

In theory this is what I think I'm meant to be doing to achive this.
1. Measure a said speaker in REW - eg Centre (not quite sure how to)
2. Have REW determine the required filters (not quite how to)
3. Manually load these into GlissEQ for the relevant channel (No issues there)
4. Repeat the process until all speakers have custom filters set (iterate)

Have I got the process right or is there a better way?
Any tips on the steps required to do in REW itself as im pretty comfortable working MC17 and GlissEq:wave:

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers,

bassmann

·
Premium Member
1,400 Posts
bassmann said:
Any advice appreciated.
( Advice ?? ) Yes , allow yourself about half a year ( with about 3 hours a week of applied study time ) to truly get competent/familiar with all the concepts ( that you just managed to fly by ) .