Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
ok..ok...REW newbie here...haven't even downloaded the app yet but trying to get my thoughts together first. Trying to minimize intimidation:hide:....and I know you are all here to help me.

Currently I do not :no:eek:wn a BFD. I do, however, have a Radio Shack SPL Meter (analog):yes:

My question is...does it first make sense to download REW, buy an external soundcard, buy the appropriate wires/connections, and run REW without a BFD so I can see what my system currently looks like on paper? :R I'm sure that my sub is not flat in my room.

I should add that I have just recently integrated 2 new pieces into my HT.

#1 SVS PB13 Sub :hail:
#2 Outlaw Audio ICBM (for Bass Mgmt. duty as I let my Pioneer Blu Ray player decode..so I am analog throughout)

I've performed zero measurements at this point and assume REW is really the best way to go here ? Yes?

Finally...what are folks using with laptops running VISTA..in terms of external soundcards?:huh:
Looking to spend as little as possible on an external soundcard that will get the job done the right way.

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
My question is...does it first make sense to download REW, buy an external soundcard, buy the appropriate wires/connections, and run REW without a BFD so I can see what my system currently looks like on paper?
Yep, it's minimal cost, and you may find your room is just fine, and you require no equalization.

what are folks using with laptops running VISTA..in terms of external soundcards?
Personally, I'm using a Turtle Beach Audio Advantage SRM.

brucek

·
Premium Member
89 Posts
ok..ok...REW newbie here...haven't even downloaded the app yet but trying to get my thoughts together first. Trying to minimize intimidation:hide:....and I know you are all here to help me.

Currently I do not :no:eek:wn a BFD. I do, however, have a Radio Shack SPL Meter (analog):yes: