Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

I am a complete REW noob and just managed to produce my first measure. I followed the tutorial on the GIK Acoustics website. I'm not sure that it looks "right" or like the example i the tutorial.

Please could someone take a look at the file and let me know if it is a satisfactory file or not? If it is satisfactory, what do the results show?

Many thanks in advance

http://imgur.com/vv6PXgm,z3cmi7F,vk8Bod1
http://imgur.com/vv6PXgm,z3cmi7F,vk8Bod1#1
http://imgur.com/vv6PXgm,z3cmi7F,vk8Bod1#2

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No problem, thanks for letting me know - I've just realised this thread may have been better in the REW sub-forum swell - my apologies.

·
Banned
4,838 Posts
There they are.

It is a little bit difficult to read a plot with such a wide-range dB scale. We usually try to limit the vertical scale on a frequency response plot to a 60 dB total range. Some smoothing will help, also.

The measurements appear valid.

What they show appears fairly flat above 500 Hz, interesting peaks between 50 and 200 Hz, and maybe need a sub below 50 Hz.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I really appreciate you checking as I was messing around with it for a good couple of hours trying to get a valid sound card calibration and then an actual measurement. I know what you mean about the sub area - I have alexis m1 active monitors, does the graph show a peak at about 50hz or a null between 100hz and 60hz?

·
Banned
4,838 Posts
Peak at 50 Hz. Could be because they are right against a wall. Are they? Or sometimes a peak like that is designed in to make the bass seem deeper. Looks like another peak at 120 Hz, also possibly by design.

There is probably nothing below 48 Hz, what you see is most likely LF noise.

The highs really look pretty flat.