Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First shot at a REW Primer for the Apple MacBook Pro using the internal soundcard (work in progress)

I have found that REW works quite well with the Apple MacBook Pro and its internal soundcard, and suspect that many of the attached comments will apply to other Apple machines. I have successfully run REW on both Windows XP and the most recent OS X (Version 10.5.2); I found that both operating systems required some basic tweaks to optimize REW but did not find either system install especially difficult. While I am just a novice with REW, my own thoughts for a successful MacBook Pro install follow; these may not work for you but hopefully will save you time and lead you to a successful REW experience:

* Install software at
http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/downloads-area/19-downloads-page.html
- Update your Java platform
- Install appropriate REW software for your operating system

* Open REW and open the help file (F1) and study this from start to finish before doing anything else

* Once you begin to calibrate the soundcard with a stereo 1/8" cable connecting your soundcard's line-in and line-out, you should check the following system settings

**In REW, click on the settings button and under the settings tab, under the soundcard tab
--- set the sample rate to 44.1khz
--- set output device to Default Audio Device ("Java sound audio engine" seems to work also, but I noted slightly worse performance on calibration)
--- set input device to Built in Input

** Open Audio MIDI Setup program on the Mac
- Under Audio Devices tab
-- Default input should be Built in Input
-- Default output should be Built in Output (don't remember if MIDI outputs) changes if you choose to use "Java sound audio engine")
-- System output should be Built in Output

- Properties for Built in Input should read
-- Source: Line In
--Format 44.1khz