Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Maybe as a newbie I am aiming too high? Running OS X on a Mac Book Air equals only one USB input. That one is currently occupied by the M-Audio Fast Track Pro and attached to that the Behringer ECM 8000 microphone.
I have calibrated the sound pressure to 75db with my Sound Level meter and so far it is all sweet. When I do the last check levels prior to running the measure it tells me that the levels are too low? I think it could be because that there is a delay of the sound as I am running the test tone through Airfoil to the Aiport Express and then to the sound system. If I Ignore that and go onto measuring and I do get a chart but is is still saying that the level are too low as at the same time saying that some distortion and clipping has occurred. Maybe wireless Airfoil connection does not work and I need a Mac with two USB slots? M-Audio in and Sound out to the music setup? Any suggestions or ideas as getting another computer will be a bit of a hassle.

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts
The fast track pro has all the audio I/O you should need, it would be better to use it for output and input if you can. As a minimum it would be worth trying to do a loopback measurement with the M-Audio to make sure the input is working properly - it may not be, the latest apple Java update broke audio input from 4-channel soundcards, if the Audio Midi panel offers a 2-channel mode for the card that may fix things. A possible alternative if the input will not work would be to run under Bootcamp and try the Windows version of REW.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3