Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to add some acoustic treatments to my home theater and someone suggested this app as a great help. I went thru the manual and help files briefly but is there a walkthrough for dummies somewhere? It seems to explain a lot about using it and taking measurements but where can I learn what I am supposed to do with these measurements and how they will be affected by what acoustic treatments I would use?
Sorry that may be a dumb question but Im pretty new to the acoustics aspect of home theater.
Thanks, Keith

·
Super Moderator
9,264 Posts
but where can I learn what I am supposed to do with these measurements and how they will be affected by what acoustic treatments I would use?
As brucek noted, there is no "interpretation for dummies" walk-through. Typically people post their "before and after" graphs here and we divine the meaning of it all. Gives us something to do, and reaffirms our status and air of mystery as the all-wise, all-knowing gods of audio. :laugh:

Let us know what treatments you intend to implement, and we'll let you know what REW measurement and functions will best show how well they're working. You may want to gear up for full-range measurements with a calibrated ECM8000 mic and pre-amp for this effort. As I noted, be sure and take measurements before and after.

Regards,
Wayne

·
Registered
108 Posts
I can start a new thread if necessary, but this "totally lost" thread - and a recent one at that - seemed to sum up my situation.

I have read the help files as well as the thread on waterfalls, but the mechanics/procedure is eluding me.