Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
please forgive me and give me some ideas concerning room acoustic tweaking.
my english isn't enough good to allow me to understand your posts without a little kick in the .....

can someone of you tell me which are the steps to make to start with rew?
i've read all the help files and i'm ready to test.

which are the graph's to watch to find how to position bass traps?
i don't understand which relationships i can find between modal resonances and ...the places how
to put absorbers and so on.

i've basic knowledges, taken from F. ALTON's book but i'm not able to match them with rew...

please help

thanks in advance
alessandro suppiej

·
Super Moderator
9,254 Posts

Waterfalls are the best graphs for determining the effectiveness of bass traps. I think the best place for them is typically corners, but it would be best to consult your vendor for directions.

Here's a step by step of the REW setup once the soundcard calibration and mic or meter calibration are loaded, and the cables are all hooked up and ready to go.

1. Prepare to run the Check Levels routine (Settings icon, Soundcard tab) selecting Check/Set Levels with Subwoofer in the Levels pull down box, with the SPL meter at the listening position (or the measurement mic, if that’s what your using for the measurements) and the dial of the meter at 80dB position.

2. Change Input Device Input and Output Device Output from Default to USB Audio, or the name of the soundcard, if that option is available, and Speaker for output, and Line In for input.

3. Begin the Check Levels routine. Ensure the REW output VU meter is at -12db and the Sweep Level at -12dB. If those fields are blank, check the two Control Mixer Volume boxes.

4. Set the Wave Volume at 1.000 and the Output Volume about ~0.500. (If those fields are blank).