Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I currently have 2 RL-I12 dual 4 ohm subs that i have been using in my truck for almost 4 years or so. These are one of the orginals with no logo on them. I am now thinking about using them in my home theater. I would like to build sealed boxes for them or a slot/ported box like the one for those infities that have been going on. I plan on running a external amp like a Berhinger EP2500 or something similar that can provide power in 2 ohm or 8 ohm because that is the 2 wirring choices i would have with these being dual 4 ohm. Probally go with something in the 8 ohm range because that would be less stress on the amp. I have been using the WinISD program and i am a bit confussed with it. I play around with the box size and it says a 20x20x20 sealed box would give me roughly 32hz. I would like to stay around this size or go smaller if possible.

I currently am running a Phase Technology Octave 1.0 15 inch sub and a Velodyne VX-10. I was originally planning on building another 15 inch and adding a plate amp. But now i am pondering this idea.

Any ideas on box size?
Would it be worth it to even use these subs in home theater?
Should i just go with my first idea and get a 15 inch sub from PE and plate amp.

Thank you

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It was discontinued by them. I guess it was because the RL-P12 was selling more. Here are the specs.

a.. Qts - 0.247
b.. Qes - 0.273
c.. Qms - 2.521
d.. Fs - 18.563 Hz
e.. Re - 5.69 Ohms
f.. Ls - 4.788 mH
g.. Lp - 5.461 mH
h.. Rp - 9.682 Ohms
i.. Vas - 166.5 L
j.. Sd - 0.0457 m^2
k.. Mms - 149.3 g
l.. Cms - 492.2 m/N
m.. Bl - 19.03 T*m
n.. Sensitivity - 87.73 dB
o.. Xmax - 19 mm

They are rated at around 400 watts rms.

Thank you

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you.