Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am new to REW and while reading the guides, I figured out that the mechanism is primarily to flatten bass response and the cabling goes to the subwoofer.

I am not a fan of bass, and the subwoofer is usually switched off. In either case, I listen mostly to stereo sources, and occasionally to the home theater setup through movies.

So, I was looking into the equalization kit for both stereo & home theater

How can I equalize all 6 channels with REW?

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Not a fan of bass? That's sort of a strange statement. It's like saying you just like half of a musical piece. I am not a fan of POOR bass either, but saying that bass is bad is going a little over the top, in my opinion.

So, on to your question. Most modern surround processors/receivers have automatic EQ for all channels that usually work very well.

I would suggest trying a properly calibrated sub, and then tell me what you think.

·
Premium Member
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi

I have a new Audiolab 8000AP (audio-only) processor that does not have any kind of EQ, and I listen to stereo mainly. Surround setup sounds good to my ears, but stereo a quite "thin"
I listen to stereo music without subwoofer (and yes, my subwoofer purchase was not a very good one few years back..)

Is REW relevant to stereo music reproduction? Is it really only for the (very) low frequences?
How can I configure Behringer DEQ2496 for the purpose of equalizing stereo with REW?

thanks

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Is REW relevant to stereo music reproduction? Is it really only for the (very) low frequences?