Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, newbie here.

This year's hobby effort is getting an RPi 3 being a high quality music player with JRiver MediaCenter and DRC. MC playback is going well and I'm working on integrating filters and/or convolution. So far I have been getting my feet wet with REW to generate filters.

At the moment I have run into an issue that appears to be REW-specific. I have a HiFiBerry DAC+ Pro running and JRiver MC outputs just fine to it. With REW, I can select the HiFiBerry as the output device in the Preferences window, but whenever I try to play something, either to check levels or do a measurement, the sound is output for about 1 second and then stops, and the output device selection is reset to "Default Device". REW stops as if the test is over after 1 second. This is 100% repeatable.

Note, the HiFiBerry is an I2S device, not USB or other interface, in case that is important. I don't see any messages in log files, including the REW log files under the REW directory.

Info:
Code:
$uname -a
Linux audiopi 4.4.47-v7+ #961 SMP Sun Feb 5 20:17:00 GMT 2017 armv7l GNU/Linux

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: sndrpihifiberry [snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus], device 0: HiFiBerry DAC+ Pro HiFi pcm512x-hifi-0 []
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

$ cat .asoundrc
pcm.!default {
	type hw
	card 0
}

ctl.!default {
	type hw
	card 0
}

$ cat REW/roomeq_wizard0.log.txt
Feb 06, 2017 10:01:51 PM roomeqwizard.RoomEQ_Wizard main
INFO: REW V5.18 running JRE 1.8.0_65 32-bit on linux 4.4.47-v7+
Feb 06, 2017 10:02:03 PM roomeqwizard.CalData calFileLoader
INFO: Mic sensitivity -19.942 dB
Feb 06, 2017 10:02:10 PM roomeqwizard.CalData calFileLoader
Does anyone know if there is a way to find out why REW is resetting the output device selection?

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts