Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here's a quick look into my first subwoofer project, which I finished a few months ago.

Reasons for upgrade:

I used to own a REL Q150E, and although it provided plenty of very clean and tight bass, it couldn't keep up with some of the more bass-heavy action movie scenes, so I decided to bite the bullet and build a sub that could satisfy me for at least a few years.

Why the Rythmik Audio DS1500 kit?

As a newbie I was looking for an easier way to go, so the first criteria for the driver/amplifier was that it could have been ordered as a kit. Especially when the shipping costs to Finland easily double the price of the driver. Also with all the good reviews and Brian's good customer service the decision was easy.

Enclosure:

For this project I wanted to go flat out and build the biggest thing that would fit into my listening room(which also doubles up as my bedroom and workroom). After some measurements I come up with a 8cu.ft box enclosure tuned to 19hz with 3 3" vents(flared at both ends). I know that it might be a little overkill for my 1200cu.ft(35m^2) room, but at least I won't run out of headroom. :hsd: The box was built out of 1" MDF with double thick front and rear walls and was braced with 16 braces, 4 running along each axle, so the the box is very sturdy. The finish is semi-glossy matte black with clear lacquer coat.

Building:

(Sorry, no build pics)

As I didn't have the skill, tools or courage to build the box myself I took my drawings into a local woodworking shop. The building took almost half an year, instead of the promised 3 weeks, but I couldn't be happier with the result.

End result: