Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am setting up a home theater in the basement and was looking around the site for a good design to build a 110" 16 x 9 screen. I would also like to make a masking system either removable or mechanical. I have read some people using the pink foam board but ideally would like to have a mechanical version so I have more flexibility for different aspect ratios. Any links to some good builds would be appreciated as well as some detailed instructions. I am pretty handy but would like this to look as nice as possible. Thanks for the help in advance.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will keep you posted if I figure it out. I work in the window business and was thinking of attaching the screen using screen spline. Have you ever heard of people having any luck with that? Thanks

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
I will keep you posted if I figure it out. I work in the window business and was thinking of attaching the screen using screen spline. Have you ever heard of people having any luck with that? Thanks
Yes I have seen that used before. :T I believe they used the heavier gauge (?) spline if that helps. And I believe wbasset has done some experimenting with it as well. He should chime in soon. :T

·
Registered
178 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
I am setting up a home theater in the basement and was looking around the site for a good design to build a 110" 16 x 9 screen. I would also like to make a masking system either removable or mechanical. I have read some people using the pink foam board but ideally would like to have a mechanical version so I have more flexibility for different aspect ratios. Any links to some good builds would be appreciated as well as some detailed instructions. I am pretty handy but would like this to look as nice as possible. Thanks for the help in advance.