Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning, Guys......I recently installed a PT- AE2000U with a Sony Blu Ray and an Elite screen. I also built a 96" screen using Melamine with velvet border, etc. It seemed the Elite was the better of the two, so I retired the Mel and have been watching the Elite for a couple weeks. Note that I am new to this stuff, and don't know what to expect in a screen; what is good, great, etc.
I have a lot of heat/light reflective paint left over from a job, and decided to paint the Mel screen with it. I was surprised to find out that the movies looked much better with the painted screen, so I took down the Elite.
I would really like to have someone to test a painted surface for me to see what the screen gain is. I would be happy to send a painted object for testing, etc.
Can anyone help with this?
Thanks,
jim

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
Well I'm getting closer to checking gain all the time. You can send it to me. I'll need a larger than normal piece though, at least 8X8 inches, to check gain. If you can't get me a piece that large I can still check it for neutrality and what not! :T I'll pm you my address Jim.

·
Registered
2,234 Posts
Good morning, Guys......I recently installed a PT- AE2000U with a Sony Blu Ray and an Elite screen. I also built a 96" screen using Melamine with velvet border, etc. It seemed the Elite was the better of the two, so I retired the Mel and have been watching the Elite for a couple weeks. Note that I am new to this stuff, and don't know what to expect in a screen; what is good, great, etc.
I have a lot of heat/light reflective paint left over from a job, and decided to paint the Mel screen with it. I was surprised to find out that the movies looked much better with the painted screen, so I took down the Elite.