Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am a first time builder and I am looking to build, after port, driver & brace loss, a 12.6 ft 3 LLT tuned to 15hz. After running what I think is the right numbers in WinIsd I end up with a port velocity around 47m/s. Is that a high number or an accepted number. I am going to run it off an EP-2500 and put in a number of 850 watts. One last thing is it better to use the SDX 15 or move up to an IXL 18.4. Not too much to pick from here in Canada.Thanks in advance!!!

·
Registered
71 Posts
I just checked and the SDX-15 actually has more displacement the IXL because of the extra 8mm xmax. I like the looks of the SDX better and I own one so it gets my vote.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the reply. I was reading another post on a build of a Mach 5 in a 350l box at 15hz and a few of the posts on it were concerened about the port not being the diameter of the port away from the wall. This may cause an unefficient port. Would I run into this with a 8in port, or would have a bigger issue with the port turbulence with the 6in?

·
Registered
71 Posts
An 8 " port would probably need a bend, as Mike p. said the port is 41.75" long. You could also do a slot port too, or my favorite option would be to spend a few more dollars and get 2 18" passive radiators from CSS. PR's don't have any of the problems as ports, the only downside is the cost. You can also make a smaller box for the same tune with PR's.

·
Registered
71 Posts