Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally finished my theater room and now I need to connect my vintage Onkyo 540 amp and my Klipsch horns. My home has a hard wired network as well as numerous wireless routers. Part of my network has a free standing network hard drive that contains thousands of songs and some video. Playing video should not be an issue sense I'm installing a smart TV.

I know that using a laptop and connecting the headphone output to the preamp will work, however, I'm looking for a better solution. I’m thinking about placing a CPU out of sight and installing a flip down touchscreen monitor…any better ideas?

I saw that Onkyo has a network capable amplifier, however, I want to use my old equipment.

Regards,
Bob

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
Welcome to HTS!!! :D I am just getting into media servers myself; you could use your laptop, but using its digital output would be a much better option. Using the laptop's headphone jack works (I've done it myself) but severely limits your options.

There are also several USB devices to get sound from your PC; look for the word "asynchronous" in the description. This should reduce jitter and improve SQ as the data timing will be "managed" by the AVR's/SSP's DAC.

I'm sorry that I can't offer more input, but I hope that it helps. :bigsmile:

·
Registered
114 Posts
A computer out of sight with an external D/A converter would probably be the best thing. I used to use an older Aragon D2A connected to the digital out on my pc for my 2 channel rig and I loved it.

Pair it with a media application on the pc like XBMC and you should be golden.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I'm in a similar situation with some of my vintage gear (HH Scott 299C amp, Marantz 2285B receiver). Was thinking of using a Lindeman DAC, and possibly a Mini Mac or an iPad...

Thanks for the post, looking forward to hear more of what others have to say!

·
Premium Member
2,620 Posts