Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was the winner of the Shiva-X giveaway and just received the driver. Thanks Kevin! I also ordered 2 15" PR's and want to build the NeoDan end table design below. I have an EP-2500 for power and an SMS-1 for hpf and eq. This is my first build. I do have quite a bit of previous wood working experience but could use some help.

First off I need to gather all the tools and materials. I already picked up some 3/4" MDF for the cabinet and will be using a circular saw with clamped guide to make the straight cuts. I also picked up a Jasper 200 for cutting the circles for the driver and pr's. This design only has a single layer baffle for the driver and pr's. Should I consider using 2 layers to flush mount them?

Should I use screws or hurricane nuts for attaching hardware?
What speaker terminals work the best? speakons?
I need to buy a bunch of clamps. Any recommendations?
What else do I need?

Thanks,
Steve

·
Registered
511 Posts
I highly recommend the Jet Brand Parallel Clamps Jet Brand Parallel Clamps. That is assuming you plan on doing any woodworking in the future as they are a little expensive...these will last you a lifetime, are easy to engage and disengage, pull very parallel, and are very solid and stay square. I used them on my 41" X 37" X 23" box, and I only wish I had more!

Tightbond 2 for adhesive, and a good silicon adhesive/sealant to seal it up once the wood glue is cured. Gorilla glue (or similar) for locking in whatever T-nuts or Hurricane nuts you pick. I went with regular T-nuts because that's what was easy for me to get.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
If this is a one-time project, you can screw and glue it and get away without buying clamps.

Standard wood glue is fine. I use Titebond and it works fine. I would flush up all the drivers, which means a 2nd layer of MDF.

Kevin Haskins
Exodus Audio

·
Registered
178 Posts