·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my current setup is
yamaha htr-6295b
Paradigm Monitor 11 fronts
Paradigm cc-390 center

need a sub...should i buy a dsp-3200, SVS PB12 NSD or build a custom sub? i am a newbie and do not have a lot of knowledge.

Was looking at sdx10 or trio12. would i get a better sub with these builds??

·
Registered
49 Posts
my current setup is
yamaha htr-6295b
Paradigm cc-390 center

need a sub...should i buy a dsp-3200, SVS PB12 NSD or build a custom sub? i am a newbie and do not have a lot of knowledge.

hi christin, I'm not a DIY guy so I'm not going that route at all, given the state of economy "equipment wise" these days you can make good on lots o subs that are built to specs and do all the work for you!! "just try to buy from "stores or on line, where you get at least a thirty day money back if you don't like what your hearing" OH and while your doing that please do no forget your surround left & right speakers:cool:
good luck. Win

·
Registered
2,625 Posts
my current setup is
yamaha htr-6295b
Paradigm cc-390 center

You would get a better DIY sub in most cases with a custom one, but you will need a few tools to get the job done.

A jigsaw, a circular saw, and drill are the minimum tools needed.

·
Premium Member
35 Posts
You would get a better DIY sub in most cases with a custom one, but you will need a few tools to get the job done.

A jigsaw, a circular saw, and drill are the minimum tools needed.
I agree, totally. For the dollars spent, you can (with a little help from your friends if you need it) build a sub (or any speaker for that matter) which will outperform a store bought sub.
SteveMA

·
Premium Member
35 Posts
I see on the SVS website the model you mentioned is selling for $600 (in round numbers). If you have woodworking skills (or a friend who could help out) you can build a cabinet for under $100 (assuming MDF and wood veneer finish, less if you paint the cabinet).