Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a college student moving into a small flat, and I am looking for some advice as to where I should set up my theater. Option one is a small spare bedroom, aprox. 10x13 ft. This room could be a dedicated (albeit tiny) theater room. Everything could be set up symmetrically, walls could be painted dark, outside light could be completely controlled, and it can be easily closed off from the rest of the house. Option two is to set up my theater in the living room, which is aprox. 14x22 ft. Since this is my main living area I wouldn't be as free to place everything exactly where it should go for best sound/viewing. It probably wouldn't be as symmetrical, and and total light control would be impossible.

I have always wanted a dedicated theater room, but I don't know if this room is really big enough to pull it off. It would have all the benefits listed above, but will also have issues with sound because of the small size (especially in the bass department). The living room on the other hand should have better, more uniform sound across the entire seating area (which should be at least 3 seats wide).

Its going to be used 50-50 for HT/Stereo. My LCR's are Paradigm studio 20's, sub is a MFW 15, and my main viewing will be done on a Optoma H31 480p DLP projector (but I have a old CRT TV I can use during the day if need be) Screen size would be anywhere from 70-90". If you were in my situation, where would you set up your theater?

(Moderator: If this isn't the right area for this thread, feel free to relocate it)

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
The bedroom is a bit small but doable The big issue will be speaker placement as the fronts need to be out of the corner at least 2' or you will have first reflection cancellation issues. That would make the screen on the small size Can you mount the projector from the ceiling?

·
Registered
72 Posts