Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to embark on a new project. A pair of nearfeild monitors for my studio. I am only new to the home recording thing, so I don't feel the need to go to extremes however they do need to be good. Becasue of the size of the room, anything from about 6" will do.

My current mindset is a 2way 6.5" woofer and 1"dome tweeter with an active X-over.

Any thoughts, experiences or opinions would be appreciated.

Cheer
Dr F

·
Banned
1,131 Posts
Is your goal to build these speakers or get a low cost high quality pair of studio monitors, perhaps even crossing the two boundaries?

If the latter is an option I would suggest purchasing a pair of Behringer 2030P monitors a pair of stereo subwoofers and a DCX2496. The 2030P monitors are extremely low cost (a pair can be had for $140 or so in the states) and are extremely high quality. Not only are they extremely linear speakers their polar response is superior to many speakers even 10X the price! Couple this with the fact that the units components are extremely high quality (high quality motors on the drivers, electrolytic caps etc..) a superior unit cannot be built for cheaper.

Of course, there are some issues with this unit, but with minor modifications these can be dealt with. Further, if you are willing the panel resonance issue (common to virtually all commercial and DIY speakers) with these speakers can be properly mitigated or removed as well.