Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

First of all am I posting in the righ place???

I have just got the subwoofer YST-215 paired with Yamaha NS10m
I have just put the woofer in between the sweet spot and done a sweep from 15-400 Hz

The sub in in Phase reverse mode. I have acoustic treatment in the room (Side walls, corners, and part of the ceiling)
As NS 10's have a bump on 131 Hz ---or that could be my room?

This graph obviously has a problem between 80-100 Hz--this is approximately where my crosover frequency is set. I am new to this, never done some subwoofer measurements before. I would like to learn how to do this properly. How to setup a crossover frequency? how to level the subwoofer with the satelites properly?

·
Banned
516 Posts
It would help substantially if the raw data .mdat file was posted allowing us to convolve and massage the data.

I am also curious as to the reference to "phase reverse mode", as to exactly what that means and why it is enabled. Is this a delay of 180 degrees in phase, or a polarity reverse?

As far as how to align the sub and full range speakers, this process is explained fully at this link.

For a presentation of this paper by the author, you can find that

Since many take offense if we attempt to explain the process here, I won't. But you are welcome to peruse the paper and the video presentation and folks are welcome to complain to those sources - especially as it does not simply focus on the application of EQ.

Below is a summary:

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the great info.
By phase shift, I actually meant polarity reverse. I will look at the texts and video and see what I can get out of it.

·
Banned
516 Posts
By using the impulse response, you will want both the full range speaker and the woofer moving forward with the initial application of stimulus.