Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
746 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After painting many DIY screens and two huge walls in my home I have come to the conclusion that I hate rollers for any fine work....good for walls though.
No matter how good I get with rollers and no matter what nap, I end up with too much texture from the roller on my screen.(pvc board)

1/4" nap is what I've been using from both Wooster and Purdy.
Most places don't carry anything shorter nap, the ones that do under 1/4" is not wool....it looks like foam but could be something else similar..

.......so what do you guys advise?(can't spray BW, correct?...so should I use a 3/16" foam(whatever that is) roller?

·
Moderator Emeritus
3,772 Posts
Hi Matt,

All BW mixes can be sprayed. I absolutely hate rolling... I'm not good at it, it's messy, I'm not good at it... you get the point. :)

I already had the air compressor, so I went with a compressor-powered HVLP gun from Harbor Freight (see my avatar for a photo of it). There are also electric HVLP spray guns (Wagner CS) and turbine (think of it as a high-speed fan providing the air) HVLP systems (Harbor Freight now has one of these too). I've never used any other HVLP system than my current setup, but reports on the Wagner are VERY good.

As for using other types of rollers... I'll have to leave that advice for those that don't fear the roller.:bigsmile:

·
Registered
21 Posts
I recently painted some C&S on some small sintra samples I have, it wasn't easy. The foam roller just smeared the paint around. The gatorfoam board sample did much better with the same roller.

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
The Wagner Control Spray is a nice unit. I used it for several panels and it worked well. I was kind of shocked that it worked as I've had three previous Wagner products and they all ended up in the trash bin.

·
Registered
7 Posts