Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, this is my first time so bare with me.
I am interested in getting a sound bar system to enhance my 42" Sony TV. My wife will not allow wires, so a 5:1 system is out of the question. What I want to know is the difference between a 2:1 sound bar and a 3:1 sound bar and what is the preference.

·
Banned
4,015 Posts
Hello Ray and welcome to the Home Theatre Shack :T

I presume 2.1 is just L&R speakers + sub and the 3.1 speaker combines L/C/R speakers + sub.

If I was you I would take a look at the Yamaha range of sound bars as they seem to be the favourites atm, IIRC there is the YSP1000 which is supposed to be very good indeed.

·
Premium Member
3,777 Posts
Welcome Ray. Have fun. Dennis

·
Banned
3,807 Posts
Aperion has a higher end soundbar that you might be interested in as well. The Yamaha would be my recommendation if you have a rectangular room, but if not, don't try for cheesy pseudo-surround...just good sound that works with your aesthetics.

Would a 3.1 system work (all the wires at the front of the room and easily hidden)? How about in-wall speakers?

·
Premium Member
8,112 Posts
Hello,
Ray, welcome to the Shack.
Cheers,
JJ

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hi Ray, Welcome aboard!

As others have mentioned Yamaha is the leader in the sound-bar area but the Aperion is another great option if your looking for something with a bit higher quality.

Enjoy your stay with us.

·
Premium Member
8,112 Posts
Hello,
I wish there was a way to convince your Wife that Wires can be made completely hidden with a myriad of approaches. The SQ of a Sound Bar will never approximate what is possible with an actual HT System.
Cheers,
JJ

·
Registered
2,604 Posts
Welcome to the Shack Ray! Another NYer!
What kind of place do you live in? There are all kinds of creative ways to hide wires...

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts