Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m new here and have been lurking for quite some time. I’ve been thinking of doing a large set of towers for my basement. I have read some about line arrays and the benefits of them and would like to incorporate that design into my idea. I do know I have to overlap the tweets, mids and woofer Hz ranges but I have no experience with crossovers and ohms. I have read some about ohm's law and I believe I am looking to do passive parallel crossovers, but that's about it. My brother is a carpenter and will be helping me with the woodworking, so no worries there. We would be able to do a dedicated enclosure for each mid and woofer if necessary. I would be looking to drive the two towers with a Crown xTi 1000 or 2000 or something very similar. Here is a very quick, rough picture of what I am looking to do. Can anyone point me in the right direction for crossover and ohm help or anything else you can think of. Do you see any initial flaws in what I am looking to do? Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
169 Posts
wow ... line array system! Bravo!

Use active Behringer DCX2496 or DBX driverack 260 controllers and 3-amped system. :T this will be much better and more effective , than passive filter network.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Nathan,
These won't be cheap or easy to design. Look up sites where others have built line arrays first to understand what you're doing. I've seen designs that use MTM arrays, but I'd still do the research. Some things work very well, but not everything!
Frank

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
There are a few things I can mention:
  1. You'll want to line up ALL of the mids in a vertical alignment. It has to with the dispersion characteristics of a vertical array.