Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the forum so I'll start off with a big Hello.

I am running the yamaha rx-v661 with the paradigm monitor series speakers (fronts monitors 9, rears mini monitors, center cc-390). After hooking everything up and running the "auto setup" feature on the receiver, I am getting a error that indicates that the center channel is connected with reverse polarity. I double checked the connections and everything was correct, red to red and black to black. Re-ran auto setup and got the same error. So I changed the connections to red to black and black to red, re-ran auto setup and no error. Is there an easy way to see if the problem is with the receiver or speakers or if its just a bad error message? Should I just keep it connected red to black and black to red. I have no knowledge of speaker wiring so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
John

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Wayne!

All speakers are part of the Paradigm Monitor Series. Center channel is model CC-390. Here is a link to the speaker on Paradigm's site: http://www.paradigm.com/en/paradigm/centers-monitor-cc390-model-3-4-1-54.paradigm

Thinking about, this weekend I'm going to try switching the connections with the right front speaker (monitor 9) and the center channel (cc-390) then re-running the setup again. It will be a monitor 9 connected to the center channel terminals on the receiver and the cc-390 connected to the right front terminals. I figure if the error still occurs where the cc-390 is connected then it probably is a problem with the wiring in the that speaker. If the error continues to occur with the connection on the monitor 9 then it probably is an issue with the receiver. Either incorrect wiring or a erant error message. Sounds like it may isolate the problem.

John

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #4