Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

wondered if you had any comments on the 8K to 10k plot dynamics..
I measured left, right and then both as you can see.

do you think this would be destructive interference from boundary early reflections, phase issue?

Adam p11a, studio control room, rta-m mic, room cal in place, mic cal not used...

(sorry if i dont post all relevant info, im very new to this!)
thanks!
brad

Attachments

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I may have jumped the gun as I've rechecked the mic position and found it to be a bit forward (closer to the monitors) than it should be. I would say it's probably picking up reflections from the control surface and video monitors...

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi wayne!
yup, i guess they do!
hey, just to clarify: i dont have a lot of experience reading the results from tests, so im not sure how this plot stands up to others. is it out of whack, pretty good, real good etc...
because im new at this, i lack much of the understanding of interpreting the test results.
any comments on how i can speed up my progress of understanding? (ive been reading as much as i can find, but im not sure if im spinning my wheels a bit!)
thanks wayne!
b

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts
Your graph looks about average, except that you get a big depression at 8 kHz with both speakers operating (magenta trace). That’s pretty peculiar...
I wonder if the tweeter is wired out of phase in one speaker? Could reverse the connections to one of the speakers to see if the dip disappears when both play (will have odd effects lower down of course), if it does might want to rewire the tweeter.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #7