Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have the latest version of REW, latest ASIO drivers running windows 7 64bit

I am new to REW so just trying to get it working...at least a measurement...

I have a Yamaha 3020 amp.
I have the DSP UMIK-1 USB Mic with cal file loaded.
REW has been configured in preferences and I can access all 8 channels on the Yamaha and I can get pink noise through to them from REW.
I'm assuming that if I use the generator from REW this can then be used to provide the sound the mic will pickup and the level is set using the SPL meter, however when I open the SPL meter the button to turn on the meter is not working, it does nothing if I try to click it, its window just blinks and nothing happens.
If I open the levels window and play pink noise the level meter in the middle (the input) changes if say I play pink noise so that means the mic is working right? In addition if I have the SPL meter window open the input bar displays a moving level but the top window is just grey...

Also If I click the measure button I get an error box 'SPL meter audio input not available'
Why is the SPL Meter not working?

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts
Just to cover the basics, apologies if you have already been through this: are you using ASIO4All as the ASIO driver? If so, can you post an image of the ASIO4All control panel? It needs to look something like the image below, with both your output device and the UMIK selected so they are available to REW.

asio4all.jpg

The REW soundcard preferences then need to be set up to use the UMIK as input, an image of the REW soundcard preferences would be handy as well.

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts
Thanks. If after startup you change sample rate to 44.1k then change it back to 48k does that enable the SPL meter button?

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts