Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I just recently Picked up an AV-56WP74 with a convergence problem. I was able to successfully repair it so I thought I would share my experience with the forum in the hopes it will help others get their set repaired.

I took some pics, but unfortunately I’m a terrible photographer so bare with me! I also don’t have any photo editing software beyond Paint so I can’t really give arrows, notes, etc. on the pics themselves.

I will spread this out through a series of replies as I can't figure out if I can embed pictures in line with test while posting so I'll just do the text followed by the pic and then do a reply for the next text and pic.

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well ! Our camera was set to high resolution so the picture file sizes are too big to be posted here!

OK, I'll try to get to my desktop machine tomorrow where I have more software and hopefully I can squeeze the pictures down to a more reasonable size.

Sorry for the delay, I'll be back tomorrow!

Steve

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First, here’s what the tv looks like.

The board that has the convergence amplifiers on it is behind the front panel on the right hand side, to get to it you need to remove the front panel. It’s one large piece of plastic! It’s held on by six screws. Four are on the outside edges and come from the back into the front, the other two are small ones behind the flip down plate for the front a/v inputs.

Attachments

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Here’s a pic of the screws on the outside edge (excuse the looks of the case, it was just dusty – it’s cleaned up spic and span now!). I forgot to take pics of the ones on the front a/v inputs (though they are visible in later pics), just flip the a/v cover down and you’ll see ‘em.

Attachments

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #6