Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, I'm still learning REW and need to keep studying, but I figured I'd post some old graphs while here at work, then I'll get some updated ones once I get home today. I'm starting to work on waterfall graphs and possible room treatments, so obviously I really need to get up on what I'm seeing measurement wise before implementing any sort of room treatment solution. I've got dual Ultras located in the front of the room right now and things look pretty good. I don't have any eq or built in eq-ing on my receiver (old Denon unit). Ignore right now above ~80Hz, since my mains I think were still connected and they have a hard time below 100Hz with my receiver's fixed 80Hz crossover slope (another issue). The room is ~15ft wide x ~20ft long x 10ft tall with all ceramic tile floor and area rug and no room treatments (yet). I originally took numerous location measurements to verify fairly even room reponse, but inintally here I'll only focus on one seating position (mine!) with the graphs. So, here's a first look at frequency response and waterfall graphs from a room measurement I took a while back.
response graph:
old dual ultra filter graph.jpg
No smoothing, so it looks pretty good (to me). Now the waterfall image...
old dual ultra waterfall graph.jpg
Look at all that ringing! So, I think I've got some work to do. Time range is 600ms and window is 300ms. I wonder if I'll really be able to do much with the low frequency ringing with room treatments...32Hz, if I'm reading the ringing right, is pretty low to acoustically corner treat.