Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm kinda new to this HT thing, just gotten my Yamaha RX-V1065 and a MJ Acoustics Pro 50 Mk2.
Connected to my Warfedale Diamond 9.1 FR FL, CC center and Diamond 9.0 for surround.

Had tried to use the YPAO auto setup on the system and somehow or rather the LFE/ sub are not producing a good punch. :coocoo:

Am I missing something here ? There are 2 knobs at the back of the sub.
One is name rollover (from 0-180), the other one is name Phase.

Is the Rollover act like the crossover ? Should I set it to max during calibration so the AVR would handle the bass management ?
May I ask what is the Phase knob for ?

I've set all my speaker to small on the AVR, crossover at the AVR also set at 80Hz

Have been reading quite a lot from here but still unable to understand most of them :crying:

Hope someone would be able to enlighten me a little bit.

Thanks in advance. Cheers.

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Hi Alex, welcome to the shack. Yes you are correct that rollover is probably crossover even though I have never heard it called that before. Set that as high as it will go or to off if it has a switch so your avr handles the crossover. Your phase switch is to make sure your speakers are all in phase with each other meaning the direction the speaker goes when power is applied. In phase means when power is driving the speaker it goes outward, out of phase means the speaker goes inward. Most find that 0 will work for most systems but you can have a friend turn the switch back and forth while you sit in the listening position ans see what sounds best to you. Usually in phase you get more bass response and out of phase you get less. At least that is what I have found. You have your avr set correctly so that's great. Try moving the sub around the room and see where it sounds the best from your listening position. Hope this helped....:wave:

·
Premium Member
3,777 Posts