Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright, well I'm not a total noob, but sometimes...lol well here goes...
After reading for awhile I'm concerned that I have built my current sub project too small for the tuning I have used, however a rep at JL audio said it would be fine. The driver is a jl audio 13w1v2-4 13.5"... Car specs are supposed to be 2.6cu.ft slot ported to 26hz, being that this is in a home and not a car (cabin gain vs. room gain if any differences) I modeled with winIsd and came up with a 3cu.ft (WAF considered enclosure) and tuned to 21 hz. Do you think that this is too small of an enclosure? I told the rep my plans and he said it should be "just fine", but after doing some reading I think I may experience some problems tuning this to 21hz in a 3cu net box, all bracing, porting, etc has been subtracted already...! Sorry for the long post, but some feedback would be appreciated!! Btw...amp is rated at 350wrms at 4ohms... P.s.s. Porting done already with 3" ABS times 2, 27" in length, routered flares and donuts (Collo style) on inside, and simple flare routered on outside...Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)