Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I am new to HomeTheaterShack. It seems the folks around here know a thing or two and I could use some advice...

I am starting from scratch. I am looking to build a dedicated HTPC and, using a (probably wired) network, distribute content to a couple of remote HDTVs through additional computers or game consules. I also want to put a bunch of my DVDs and Blue Rays on the HTPC hard drive so I can access them from the other rooms without having to cruise to the basement to find the disc in question. I currently get Comcast Digital Cable. I really want to set this system up to avoid a drop in signal quality. So my questions...

1. What is the best device to control the Comcast box and capture both std def and HD content? Which format should I capture into? I am building this HTPC from scratch.

2. Am I better off getting a PS3, an Xbox 360, or building another computer to stream the content, including hd, through? I am thinking of using this as an excuse to go get a game consule... :bigsmile:

3. What video card do I want for the HTPC?

4. Software to control the HTPC? BTV, Nero MediaHome 4, WMC, SageTV...

Any other thoughts and/or suggestions are most welcome. If you could build a multi-room system from scratch how would you do it?

Thanks in advance for the help!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Welcome to the Shack!

first time I have gotten to say that:flex:

I have some experience with #4
4. Software to control the HTPC? BTV, Nero MediaHome 4, WMC, SageTV...
I have used WMC, GB-PVR, Mythtv, MediaPortal and a few others...

Currently I am using MediaPortal V1 and find it to be stable (this has not always been the case) but I would not recommend starting with the list of programs. That is what I did and it was hard to narrow it down. Instead, map out all that you want the HTPC(s) to be capable of:

So far you listed:
some sort of server/client (master/slave)