Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This graph is just the sub alone

I am new to this so if there is something I am doing wrong let me know.

Not that this makes much differnce but these are the low pass settings I used to see if they made a difference.

Blue 80Hz
Yellow 63 Hz
Green 50 Hz

If those colors don't look right it could be my little laptops screen :(

I have a major dip at 65 Hz of 25 db to 30 db

And a major peak at 83 of about 20 db

Currently I have the sub in the corner of my room.

Would this be caused by my location?

What would I look for in a balanced system +/- 3 db?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,923 Posts
Ya, a response like that indicates a significant problem. Clearly, changing the LPF on your sub has no effect. Do your main speakers have an HPF on them?

·
Premium Member
2,620 Posts
These look like room resonances, or "modes." Please post your room dimensions. Also, move your microphone around and take more measurements. If these are room modes, moving the mic will change the measured response quite a bit.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Ok here we are

Red Sub in Corner
Blue Sub in Middle of Room
Mic Listening position on couch
No Smoothing
Sub set to 16 Hz

When I move the mic around the room I definatley get different dips

What smoothing should I use for sub?

Any suggestions/tips on the FR?

UpdateThis graph does have all mains and sub running

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,923 Posts
I'd say the red curve looks better, single subs often do best in corners anyways. That's much much better than the first problematic curve you posted. You might try the room treatments forum for more help.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Your results look a lot like my first tests. I tried various locations before settling on one of 3 corners. I think I can still improve on mine, but I have found its easier to deal with humps than dips.