Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Premium Member
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y'all,

This is fairly late into the game, but for those of you who don't own a Gizmo and are looking for a two-channel amp, I thought I'd share my thoughts on it, as I'm a new first time owner of one.

Disclaimer: I am, in no way, an expert on audio devices, nor do I consider myself to have a golden ear. I'm just a student who enjoys music, and am writing my thoughts on the equipment I'm using. Nothing has been tested in a scientific manner - I'm just giving my honest opinion.

First off, the Gizmo is SMALL! I thought it would be the same footprint as my ELT525M, but it's smaller. I was pretty shocked when I took it out of the box.

Hooking up everything was a cinch, and in about 5 minutes after setting my setup I was ready to go. When I plugged in the Gizmo, yes, I did notice the flashing light, and laughed, since I've read so much about it, but I put a expired gift card over it and it covers it up completely. I leave it uncovered when it's on, though.

Anyways, I listen to mostly classical music, andy my desktop setup is just the ELT525Ms. For a few months I've been using a Harman Kardon AVR-247 receiver with the ELTs, so I'll be comparing the Gizmo to a full sized receiver. I have two smaller 10" subs, but I actually don't miss them very much, so I'm not using them.

The Gizmo does get surprisingly loud, and fills my 11x14 ft room to very loud SPLs at full volume. If you're worried by the "low" power rating, don't be (also, do a Google search on how SPL works - it's not as big of a deal as you think).

Sound quality wise, I thought everything sounded okay (not stellar, though - keep on reading!). I was a bit troubled by this, as the sound seemed kind of more muffled and unclear compared to the AVR-247. I thought maybe it was because I was using an optical/mini out before, and now I'm using an RCA/mini, so I considered getting a DAC.