Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I am new in this valuable team, I am wondering if somebody will want to approach the subject. If not interesting, I apologize and I kindly ask the moderators to erase it.
Hometheater, means to me more than watching Avatar and so on. Multichannel or stereo music is also part, I believe, of it. Before going in details, I am curious if such a post can go further or is born dead. I respect even so. My feeling is that we are insisting on technical issues, which is ok, but forget we are humans and all these gadgets take us away from our basic feelings, happy or not.
Do we have to impress others with our system " wow whatta bass! " or enjoy the message (music or movie)?
If accepted, we can discuss about different settings and approaches. Anyone?
regards,
tba

·
Registered
2,072 Posts
Personally, my take on "home theater" is to enhance the viewing and listening of recreational entertainment, i.e. watching movies and tv shows as well as listening to music.

To me, having the best equipment, etc., is not the end all to enjoy one's music or movies. Main thing is to enhance it from the basic form (non home theater oriented equipment) to really appreciate the content the way the composer wanted us to experience it.

Listening to music on a boombox (from back in the day) to listening to it in 5.1 Surround sound allows us the ability to really hear the music just as watching tv on a 13 inch CRT is different from watching it on a projector screen or plasma/LED gives us that whole "theater" look of seeing the content.

Of course the equipment is dependent on the finances of the invidividual and one should not outspend one's income to get the best equipment since that wouldn't be wise or practical.. :)