Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, lets see if I can get this up within an hour. (And yes I spelt THAILAND wrong :yikes:

Hello to all.

Seems the forum is a bit more on topic than others and more user friendly so here I stay.

I’m a first time poster here and have a few questions I’m hoping someone can help me with.

I’ve been monitoring this and other forums on a lot of topics and have learned quite a bit and now ask for some input pertaining to my current situation, as I’m no expert by any means.

I've also read a lot of what Bryan has to say and appreciate his knowledge. Seems he's another asset to "The Shack".

What’s important to me now is building a new system here, with limited resources. I know I can’t replicate what I had in the US, but I like my tunes and movies and need to make do here with what’s available.

The first has to do with room acoustics as my new house is under construction and being made with concrete floors and tile, cement block walls and sheetrock ceilings. I could lay insulation batts on the ceiling prior to the sheetrock if I wold do any good.

Yea, I know what you’re thinking, a cement house and a good sounding system don’t compute, but I’m now living in Thailand, and with no wood here, houses are built like bunkers and come to think of it. I've never seen a fire truck. Guess there's no need.

The roof will be finished next week and the concrete block walls will be next.

That being said, the main living room size is open and quite large at 22’ wide x 46’ long with about a 17’ vaulted ceiling (starting from the 10” vertical wall).

The framing is quite higher but the ceiling will be dropped to 17’ (Think of the elevation looking like an A with legs.)

http://[URL=http://s85.photobucket.com/user/mikeinthailand/media/Elevlg_zpsed77cd38.jpg.html]
[/URL][/IMG]