Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am very new to this world of forums and online discussion, so bear with me please.
I am building a new home theater, the room is 20x20, and am planning to build the Zaph ZA5 speakers for the audio component. Here is my question...how significant is baffle step compensation an issue? My initial thought was to have the screen on a wall, speakers beside on a shelf across the whole front of the room. Rear ported speakers need to be approx. 6" from the wall, and so a 12" deep box is now 18" out from the wall. The solution is to make a screen wall around 18" forward, and have the speakers appear flush to the screen. So now do I build the speakers with an infinite baffle crossover? Or am I splitting hairs? Does a screen count as a boundary( I think it does) and the screen wall with hidden speakers, say behind cloth looks way better than looking at speaker drivers.

Can anyone give me some advice? Zaph, are you out there? Thanks
Kadijk

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I need to add to my question.

I think the right way to go with flush mounted speakers is the infinite baffle crossover. I wonder if anyone has experience with the ZA5 mtm design, and if the one particular to center channel could really be applied to front channels as well, having been optimized for dialogue and mid range sounds. I guess I don't want to end up with front channel speakers that have center channel crossover design...

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Thanks for your response.