Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to this sight and have posted a couple of times but mostly just read. I've been reading a lot about the THT Sub and it sounds like a great project. I have the space, time, and help (an entire wood shop full of cabinet makers at work if necessary) to get something like this done but I'm a total novice when it comes to anything tbat bas to do with speakers, home theaters, etc. I'm definitely going to learn because I find it fascinating but up until now I've always been a plug and play kind of guy.

So, my question is this. With no prior technical knowledge dealing with speakers and subwoofers, is this something I should attempt or get my feet wet a little bit first? I'm not so much worried about the build as I am about the finished product. I feel like troubleshooting wise I would be clueless and not to mention I wouldn't know how or wbat to measure to make sure everytbing was working properly. Any help or advice you guys could give me would be very much appreciated. Thanks again.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I always thought that there is nothing better than a hands on experience to learn!

Just don't spend an immense fortune on your first build and move on from there.

That's exactly what I intend to do.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah that's kind of my mentality. I just don't want to be over my head too much. I was also looking at the Lilmike F20. Any thoughts on which one might be a little easier for a beginner? Also, any thoughts on best driver and amp for either one?

·
Super Moderator
5,869 Posts
If you buy the plans the THT is a very easy sub to build. The bought plans come with an easy step by step guide to build the subwoofer. I have built one in the past and it was extremely easy.