Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

As you notice this is my first post in this forum and I would like to take the opportunity to thank you guys for all the knowledge and information you're sharing and special thanks to the author of REW John for sharing his very useful software.

I just started playing with REW and I'm going step by step, taking my time and making sure that every calibration step is as perfect as it can be.

Here are couple of challenges I encountered.

Even though I develop software for a living, I only have laptops at home, desktop can stay at work :).
All my 3 laptops have no line in, only MIC in, however I noticed that all 3 docking stations have line in, so BINGO!!! first problem solved.

After hooking up the loop cable and run the sound card calibration, I didn't like the first result, you can tell there was lots of noise in the graph.
So I ran the line out from laptop to my A/V receiver and you can hear an awful static interference.

The static went away when I used the laptop stereo headphone jack, removed the docking station and unpluged the power.
But I needed to use the docking line in, googling this issue, I found out that this has to do with the ground in the power supply, pcuser.com.au/pcuser/hs2.nsf/lookup+1/931993547A4099C6CA256E5E008307B5 ,
My solution was to connect the docking station power supply plug to another plug that has no ground and voila, noise is gone and I ended up with this beautiful graph.

souncard.jpg

I hope this will be helpful for people with laptops and running into similar issue.

Next step is to calibrate my SPL meter.

Regards

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First subwoofer graph

wayne, thanks for your reply.

This is my first subwoofer graph, not sure how bad it is.
subgraph.jpg
I noticed a peak around 66hz, is this bad? what db range should I stay in, is it +- 10db?

Measurement Settings:
start Freq = 15HZ
end Freq = 150HZ