Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an open living room and I am thinking of doing a coffee table sub. It will be for music and HT. I have a Dayton Titanic MK III. I used it in a sono sub tuned to 15hz with a net volume of 9'. I have 4 12" Polk PR's that are tuned to 15hz in 3.3' cabs. Could I use these instead of ports? I can not figure out how to model PR's in WINisd:( If I go Ported I could aim the port at the wall instead of the open area of a split level?
Thanks Guys.
Ben

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for moving me Mike. The Dayton is a 15, and the PR's are 12's. All I know about the PR's is that a single PR is tuned to 15hz in a 3.3^' cabinet. I have no idea about PR's. Can you add 2 or 4 PR's in the same size box, or does each PR require 3.3^'? I am not very good at making myself clear via a keyboard, but what I mean is if each is tuned to 15hz in 3.3 then would I need to increase box size to 6.6 for 2 PR's?
Thanks
Ben

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
With a PR would that be full travel of the cone? It sounds like 3 would be real close in a 10 foot box. I get 16mm of full travel without pressing hard. The surround is very compliant. They would have to be vertically mounted for sure.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7