Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's time to upgrade my sorry 10" Dayton sub to something worth listening to. I was wondering is it worth it to try and build a subwoofer or go ahead a buy a ready to go box, like an SVS or HSU sub? I have never built a box before, but I know someone who if I give them some specs, they could build it. He has been building car audio systems for 20 years.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

·
Registered
155 Posts
I'll tell you that I'm am no expert. I've only recently got into this hobby. About a month ago I built a simple 6cft ported box with a sub I had laying around with a little knowledge on the topic. It don't look professional but, I built it with my hands. Approximately $300 in cost. If I can do it you can do it.

http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-subwoofers/13102-first-box-build.html#post117032

Half of the fun for the DIY project is the build! If you have access to the tools get your buddy to help you and build it. I liked it so much I'm building another! : )

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Half of the fun for the DIY project is the build! If you have access to the tools get your buddy to help you and build it. I liked it so much I'm building another! : )
That pretty much says it all.
However I will say that in most cases you wont get as good a sound and finish out of your first tries as an SVS PB13 Ultra or something along that line. But there are some great DIY subs that have been built by members on here that will do even better for less, its a matter of learning and building.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5