Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, first of all, I would like to thank all the supporters of this forum and contributers. Without you folks, I would still be banging away at google for answers.

Convergence issue is fixed thanks to 2, STK394-160 IC's and 6 new 1.8 ohm 1w resistors from NTE. Thanks to HBF Electronics for their help. (Also, their online ordering system isn't secure and as a computer professional, I wouldn't advise using this method to order parts from anyone like this)

To the new problem and probably present when I started this project as it was on the side of the road with a "Free" sign attached to it.

PS3 attached to the TV with Component cables, 1080i works with minor glitching at the top half of the set. Small lines on the left and right about an inch wide and a small amount of flickering on the entire top half of the screen. 720p will not work properly and nor will 480p. The entire screen appears out of sync. Tested ANT 1 and ANT 2 inputs and I get the same result. As lcaillo suggested, I did go over the signal/conv board to the best of my ability. I saw some normal wear and tear on the board or so it appeared. The board itself has 3 other boards that do directly connect to it.

Now, like I said, this problem is something I remember from before I started this repair and im pretty sure I didn't cause this. :) If anyone can help, I would appreciate it. I can provide pics and also have the repair manual for this model.

Gadz

·
Plain ole user
11,121 Posts
It sounds like a very common problem on the hyper module. Change all of the 10uF and 22uF surface mount polar electrolytics, resolder the oscillators, and test all of the remaining polar electrolytic caps for ESR.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3