Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am totally new to REW and have not even downloaded the program to my new laptop (HP Windows 7). I have a few very basic questions and any help would be much appreciated. I also have to point out I am not the swiftest with a computer as well:eek:.

My system consists of Ascend Sierra-1 LCR speakers, Def Tech BPvx surrounds, Outlaw LFM-1 Plus sub, Onkyo 886, Parasound 2100 (for 2 CH using the HT Bypass) and Boston Acoustics A7200 amp.

1. Is there a link here on the Shack that lists what is needed to get up and running with REW? I am totally clueless with all of this so the very basics would be needed:)!

2. Can REW be used with my 886 using the onboard EQ? I have only used Audyssey so I have no experience with using the manual EQ. Or would an outboard EQ be better so I can then be able to use the EQ with the 2100?

3. If an outboard EQ is the best alternative what are the best choices as far as least amount of impact on SQ (noise and distortion)?

Thanks in advance for any help:)!

Bill

·
Registered
678 Posts

·
Super Moderator
9,280 Posts

2. Can REW be used with my 886 using the onboard EQ? I have only used Audyssey so I have no experience with using the manual EQ.
It’s not clear from your post if you’re interested in full-range or subwoofer equalization, or both.

How well the on-board EQ will work will depend on the capabilities of whatever version of Audyssey your receiver has. If it’s a fully automatic version that has no provisions for the user to tweak the adjustments, then all REW is going to do for you is let you see before and after graphs, to determine how well Audyssey worked. Naturally, if the on-board is adjustable, REW can help get the most from it

Or would an outboard EQ be better so I can then be able to use the EQ with the 2100?