Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello gents

Fooling around with some drivers from Bob in simulations on another thread has gotten me a thinkin. I made a center channel that used 4 EL70's in a short line source. Great sound. I have been listening to two TRIO8's for almost 6 months and I never tire of their clear effortless bass. So to put this thread into perspective here is what I'm aiming to pull off.

A speaker that can go clear from the top end to the bottom end. We will define that as follows.

30hz to 24 khz.

It must be able to do this with at least 100db/watt efficiency.

Why?

Well listen to a high efficiency system and tell me what you think. They are the most lifelike of all speakers I have listened to or built. I enjoy lifelike sound.

Must be able to reach 120db almost across the bandwidth stated.

The only problem with the top end on the EL70's at this level is that there will be some doppler distortion generated when you take musics spectral content into consideration. THey can and do go up this high. But I will be giving them a helping hand.

Driver complement:

8 pcs EL70
4 pcs Neo 3
2 pcs TRIO8

The mid and high frequency drivers will be set up as a large line source type MTM.
The TRIO8's will be in a front loaded horn.

Box size?

Big

But narrow and tall to accomodate all the drivers.

Preliminary design specs are 10" wide x 60" tall x 16" deep. I have to design the least compromised horn into this space. That's the fun part. And that's where I will start off.

Mark

·
Registered
2,625 Posts
Hello gents

Fooling around with some drivers from Bob in simulations on another thread has gotten me a thinkin. I made a center channel that used 4 EL70's in a short line source. Great sound. I have been listening to two TRIO8's for almost 6 months and I never tire of their clear effortless bass. So to put this thread into perspective here is what I'm aiming to pull off.