Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I'm kind of new to the DIY speaker scene, I've built "The Golden Boys" from PE, and 5 Bargain aluminum MTM's 3 of whish are currently the front speakers for my soon to be 5.1 HT, they produce decent bass already, but I'm ready to build a sub for my 10' by 12' room. I already have a Dayton SD215-88 8" Shielded DVC Subwoofer part number 295-480 and a Dayton SA70 70W Subwoofer Amplifier part number 300-784. After looking around the internet I got interested in the transmission line idea. Will this work well with these products? I wouldn't have to use the sub for music if that makes a difference, I'm mainly interested in gaining dramatic LFE for dvd's. please help! Any comments or suggestions are appriciated!!

·
Registered
866 Posts
I tried making a transmission line sub with that same amp and driver. It worked but my results were less than spectacular. I don't know what went wrong - the driver had the right parameters and it modeled well. It is possible I didn't have enough patience to work with the design.

You can have the enclosure to play with if you want.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Did you try closing the termus up some by adding MDF to each side? From what I've read this "loading" might help the response, also did you stuff this pipe or not? Thanks for the reply I'm interested to hear what you tried

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Would anyone be able to give me the best dimensions for this transmission line? What adjustments should I make to Boom's design? Thanks for the help

·
Registered
866 Posts
No I did not add MDF to the sides. I'm not really sure what you mean by that anyway. Yes I did stuff the inside. I probably could have experimented more with the stuffing but I lost heart and didn't. I still don't know why the extension was 10 Hz less then modeled. So I took the sub apart and moved on to other things.