Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I designed this box and was hoping for some advise or opinions on it. I am pretty new to all this stuff but have done quite abit of reading the last couple weeks. I will get right to the pic, then explain more after.

I want to build this box and locate it behind my DLP TV. The empty box volume is 11ft3. I am considering either 1 Mal-X or 2 Shivas in it. Yes I will add bracing but, didnt want to draw it all if this is a bad idea. I will mount the drivers on the top side.

The port size is pretty much infinitely adjustable prebuild. The port depth is set at 2.685" but I can make it both longer and wider(or smaller). I have modeled up both speakers and can get good results with winISD. With tunes from 17-20hz I can keep 1st port res. around 200, and RMS air speed speed under 25ish.

On to some of my questions.

Will having the port on the small end of my box like that have a big negative impact?

When modeling in winisd and checking port speed, should I be using the peak, or RMS setting?

They will be upfiring towards a vaulted ceiling, any problems with that?

·
Premium Member
1,941 Posts
Will having the port on the small end of my box like that have a big negative impact?
Best ports are round ones, but you can still have a good port with a rectangular shape. What's the driver size?
When modeling in winisd and checking port speed, should I be using the peak, or RMS setting?
Using RMS will be more representative of program material unless you'll be listening to sin wave... so use RMS.
They will be upfiring towards a vaulted ceiling, any problems with that?
No relation with the ceiling shape, so no.

·
Registered
538 Posts