Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody

I have converted one of my bedrooms in a very small home theatre. The room is only 8sqm unfortunately. About 2.7x2.9m. Unfortunately this is what I can get!

My previous home theater was large and set-up with proper cinema equipment; this one is too small and it's really not worth a big investment. However, I am still trying to get the most out of it. This time in a more scientific way. On my previous attempt I blindly covered the walls with very dense and thick rockwool, causing the sound to become very dull.

In the meantime I've gained some extra knowledge - but lost the big space unfortunately! What I am aiming to do in this room is to control the sound without killing it. I have taken a first measurement and because this is my first attempt with REW and because the room is very small, I would like some advice to get started, please.

I have had a look at the step-by-step guide and come up with a good reading. What I am trying to identify at the moment is the obvious ringing caused by the drywall room. It is not too severe but definitely audible. It's an high frequency ringing, I am trying to identify it on the graphs so I can identify the frequency and dampen it with small frames filled up of rockwool or with sound diffusers.

I understand the waterfall graph is meaningless over 300Hz. What should I look for to try and identify such issue?

Also the room seems to have an RT of about 0.3s which I do not want to lower unless it is necessary. How would you define what the proper RT is for such a small room?

I appreciate some of you may say "why wasting time on this". It's my hobby. I am also a cinema installer - the big ones - and cinema is my big hobby as well! :)

I'm posting a few graphs, I hope I have set the parameters correctly. Given the small size of the room I am not sure. Please note this is the centre channel only.