Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been enjoying my 21" DIY sub for 4 years now, but I've hit a problem.

The other day I was doing some rewiring in my audio rack and I think I accidentally turned up the gain on the ep4000 powering my sub. I was taking a shower with the system turned to the maximum I would normally turn it up to and when I went back into the living room there was a loud rattling sound coming from the driver. It wasn't a clunk like it was hitting a stopper, but a metallic rattle like something was loose. I took it apart and the noise seems to be coming from the center of the cone. You can hear the noise pretty good on the you tube vid. I don't know much about repairing subs. I'm looking for advice on if this can be fixed. If not I guess I'll have to start looking for a replacement driver for my enclosure.

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,283 Posts
To me it sounds like the voice coil might be rubbing up against the magnet. If that's true there's probably little you can do with it, given the company is out of business.

·
Registered
192 Posts
I've been enjoying my 21" DIY sub for 4 years now, but I've hit a problem.

The other day I was doing some rewiring in my audio rack and I think I accidentally turned up the gain on the ep4000 powering my sub. I was taking a shower with the system turned to the maximum I would normally turn it up to and when I went back into the living room there was a loud rattling sound coming from the driver. It wasn't a clunk like it was hitting a stopper, but a metallic rattle like something was loose. I took it apart and the noise seems to be coming from the center of the cone. You can hear the noise pretty good on the you tube vid. I don't know much about repairing subs. I'm looking for advice on if this can be fixed. If not I guess I'll have to start looking for a replacement driver for my enclosure.