Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first time using REW and I feel real dumb for asking this but I cant find the answer in the help files.
I have all the cables hooked up according to the diagram and when I select "check levels" and I raise the volume to start seeing a level on the left and right meters I also get feedback in my speakers/sub.

What am I doing wrong?

I am using a Galaxy CM140 and have the proper calibration file loaded into REW.
EDIT: I should also add that I am going the "loopback route" but my understanding is that I need to get the levels correct before proceeding with the loopback calibration.

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
I have all the cables hooked up according to the diagram and when I select "check levels" and I raise the volume to start seeing a level on the left and right meters I also get feedback in my speakers/sub.
I advice against using the "Left Channel as Calibration Reference".

Disconnect all cables and install a single loopback cable on the right channel line-out to line-in and run the soundcard calibration routine, and create a soundcard calibration file.

Be sure your soundcard is in the stereo only mode, with all soundfields and effects turned off, and be sure the monitor mode is disabled.

Let me know how that goes...... post a pic of the cal file.

bruce

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok Here is my calibrationfile for the sound card. Does this look right? Its an older Creative Soundblaster PCI card

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
You're getting a bit of oscillation above 1Khz. Below that it's fine.

Try and play with the sweep level and see if you clear up the signal. Adjust it and then run the soundcard calibration file, then repeat until you have the best result.